Hot Topics!

Learning Your Child’s Love Language

Everyone has a “love language,” or a way they prefer to be shown love. There are five different languages and learning your child’s can help you communicate better and show them how much you love and appreciate them.

You’ve heard of the golden rule, treat others how you want to be treated. The idea behind a love language is to love someone how they want to be loved. Someone who doesn’t like to be touched may prefer a gift as a token of appreciation, and someone who feels awkward under praise may enjoy spending quality time with the person they love.

Physical Touch

If your child is very affectionate then their love language may be Physical Touch. Hugs, kisses, cuddling and even high fives make this child feel all warm and fuzzy.

Words of Affirmation

Hearing a sincere “thank you” or “good job” feels great to children whose love language is Words of Affirmation. Be sure to encourage this child with your words.

Quality Time

Just something as simple as playing a game together can mean a lot to a child whose love language is Quality Time. Try putting away your phone and any other distractions when you spend time with your child.


You don’t have to break the bank to make a child who’s love language is Gifts happy. Try giving them something of yours or just grab a little trinket for them if you’ve been gone from home for a while.

Acts of Service

Although as a parent you are always doing things for your children, you can find a way to do an act of service for them. Maybe do one of their chores for them, take the time to fix one of their broken toys or give them a hand with their homework.

Remember, your child can actually have more than one love language. Try different things to see how they respond to them to help you determine which ones work the best for them.

You may also like

Leave a Reply